Perambur Railway Hospital Today

I swear, I’m so vain, I’m wondering how their place runs so flawlessly even though I don’t work here. 2015 to 2021, things are better even though it’s Covid time.

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
5 min readJul 30, 2021
The hospital is the Southern Railway Headquarters Hospital.

Perambur Railway Hospital is a premier heart hospital, and this is where my dad’s bypass surgery was performed in 2015.

I have horrid vibes from this place. Back in 2015, when he was operated, and I spent 34 days here, neither Zomato(our Doordash) nor a canteen existed.

The canteen. Back in 2105, this place would have been nice to have around, but trade unionists had smashed it in.

This canteen in this picture below, had a huge wrecking ball smashed into it. This place is within the hospital.

The hospital, back then, had a policy of not providing food to the patients, or their caregivers. Why? Well, the treatment is already free, and you better follow the rules. I figured it was to prevent people from pretending to be sick and using the hospital like a hotel.

So no problem, right? Use the canteen in the hospital premises. Well, the trade union fights took care of that. The canteen didn’t exist then. The trade guys literally bashed it in.

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.