Chicken or Egg Questions About YouTube Workout Videos

Do I workout for videos or do I make videos because I workout?

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
2 min readMay 14, 2023
My husband took this picture of me just after I completed a workout. Boy, do I look done!

My trainer sometimes takes a video of mine and posts it on her YouTube channel. All the comments aren’t nice or encouraging ones.

One of the comments she left up was:

Do you perform these exercises specifically for a video or do you make videos as you do your regular workout?

My trainer makes more of the kind of videos that make more money. When she trains, she trains, when she records a video for YouTube, that is a performance, not a workout.

What about me? I am not a trainer. I am a dentist. Do I workout only because she sometimes makes a video of mine, too?

Well! I started working out on my own following Jillian Michaels’ videos and aspired to be one of her background girls. Even back then, I was modest. I’d aspire to be the one who did the easier, modified version of the exercises.

I’m not super-fit yet, but my videos…

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.